CBL Head of Marketing Tibayeita

CBL Head of Marketing Tibayeita

It has been several weeks of waiting following the announcing of the nominees for the Mountain Dew-sponsored Buzz Teeniez Awards Voltage Edition in February, but the tension that has built will calm down this Saturday when Kati Kati plays host to the biggest event on the youth social calendar.

Unlike the 100-metre race where the winner is certain; that is Jamaican Usain Bolt, the nominees in the various categories for the Buzz Teeniez Awards are each confident of walking home with an award on Saturday evening. However, the most lingering question is “Who will be the artiste of the Year?”, “who will be the top TV and radio personalities of the year?”, and “who is the best deejay in Uganda?”

Artistes vying for the topmost award this year are Mun* G, Bebe cool, Khalifa, and Goodlyf in the male category, and Fille, Irene Ntale, Cindy, and Rema in the female category. Most of the nominated artistes will perform on the day with a surprise guest, whom the organizers are still keeping on their chest.

Those in contention for the Teeniez Hottest TV Personality are Mosha, MC Kats, Kleith Kyatuhaire, and Douglas Lwanga and in the Teeniez Hottest Radio Personality; Dj Gero, Big Kahuna, Denzel, and Flavia Tumusiime.

Deejay Mark, Deejay Roger, Deejay Aluda, and Deejay Shiru will battle live on stage for bragging rights of “I am the best deejay in Uganda”.

There are more than 20 awards that will be given to celebrities that would have excelled in music, on radio and tv, and in sports.

Buzz Teeniez Awards started in 2007 and have for the past two years been supported by Mountain Dew.

Sheeba Karungi

Sheeba Karungi

“Mountain Dew is delighted once again to support the Buzz Teeniez Awards. We pride ourselves in connecting with our target consumers; for this case Mountain Dew which is many youths favourite drink,” said Innocent Tibayeita, the head of marketing at Crown Beverages Limited, the bottlers of Mountain Dew.

Topping the nomination list is Irene

Ntale with six nominations, followed by Fille and Khalifa AgaNaga.

Here is the full list of 2014 nominees;

Teeniez Male Artiste: Mun* G, Bebe cool, Khalifa, Goodlyf

Teeniez Female Artiste: Fille, Irene Ntale, Cindy, Rema

Teeniez Wickedest DJ: Deejay Mark, Deejay Roger, Deejay Aluda, Deejay Shiru

Teeniez Gospel Artiste: Ruyonga, Pr Wilson Bugembe, Judith Babirye, Copy Bly

Teeniez Flyest Video: Stay with me, Tubonge, Stress free, Frontline

Teeniez Hottest Riddim: Amaaso – Goodlyfe, Sejjusa – Mun *G, Oyitangayo – Khalifa, Fire Tonight – Rema

Teeniez Hottest Gospel Song: Prophecy – Exodus, Sida Mukyaalo – Copy Bly, Favour – Judith Babirye, Tutuuse – Ruyonga

Teeniez Hottest Collabo: Amaaso, Clean and Out, Born Fighter, Love Letter

Teeniez Hottest Hip hop Song: Love story – St Nellysade, Kata – Navio, Nembyelabila, Zukuka

Teeniez Beatmaker: Washington, Nash [Swangz Avenue], Nash Wonder, Ande Music

Teeniez Top Hood Rapper: Don MC, Big Trill, Navio, Ruyonga

Teeniez Breakout Artiste: Fille, Irene Ntale, Khalifa AgaNaga, Santana

Teeniez Rn’B Artiste: Iryn Ntale, Maro, Rema, Fille

Teeniez Dancehall Artiste/Group: Khalifa AgaNaga, Rabadaba, Young Mulo, Peter Miles

Teeniez Teen TV Show Presenter: MC Talha, Sasha, Kleith Katuhaire, Jerome, Sheila Gashumba

Teeniez Hottest TV Personality: Mosha, MC Kats, Kleith Kyatuhaire, Douglas Lwanga

Teeniez Hottest Radio Personality: Dj Gero, Big Kahuna, Denzel, Flavia Tumusiime

Teeniez TV show: Teens Club – WBS, Spotlyt – UBC, T-Nation, Expozed

Teeniez TV Station: Urban TV, WBS, NTV, NBS

Nisisi Award: Oyogela bubi – Santana, Politics – Irene Ntale, Twefeeko – Micheal Ross, Obuvunanyizibwa – Bebe Cool

Teeniez Funkiest FM Station: Xfm, Hot 100, Galaxy FM, Radio city


Teeniez Male Team: Hana Mixed Rugby Team, St. Juliana football team, St. Mary’s Kitende football team and Anchors rugby team Namilyango College


Teeniez Female Team: Nabisunsa netball team, Kibuli Girls basketball team, Kitende Girls basketball team and Nabisunsa basketball team


Teeniez Male Sports Personality: Leku Alfred, Ojok Moses, Kelemundo Kevin and Turyabajje Edson

Teeniez Female Sports Personality: Nambaziira Saharu, Ritah [captain]- Nabisunsa, Beretina Anakur – St. Josephs Nsambya and Nkoire Zurah – Nabisunsa

Teeniez Male MVP [basketball]: Madol Mike – St. Mary’s Kitende, Ojo Aaron – Seeta High School, Mwesigwa Macko – Makerere College and Kalule Kevin – Smack

Teeniez Female MVP [basketball]: Nambaziira Saharu, Nkoire Zurah – Nabisunsa Girls, Hasahya Sumayah – Kibuli SS and Agaba Pauline – Trinity College Nabbingo

Teeniez Best Rugger Player: Kelemundo Kevin – Hana Mixed, Juuko Sebastian – Namilyango College, Loma Maurice – Greenhill Academy and Ogwak Isaac – Smack




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.